Shilpi wins Mandar to maintain hold over father’s turf, defeats Gangotri Kujur by a margin of 23,517 votes

Ranchi: The Congress party retained the Mandar Seat of Jharkhand Assembly as its candidate Shilpi Neha Tirkey emerged victorious in the bypolls by defeating her nearest rival Gangotri Kujur by a margin of 23,517 votes.

At the end of 21 rounds of counting which was taken up at Pandra Bazaar Samiti of the capital, Shilpi Neha Tirkey got 95,062 votes while Gangotri Kujur polled 71,545 votes. Dev Kumar Dhan who had contested as an independent and was backed by the AIMIM stood third having got 22,395 votes. 2,633 people opted for NOTA.

The bypolls on the seat were held on June 23. The bypolls were necessitated on the seat after the sitting Mandar MLA Bandhu Tirkey lost the membership of the house after he was convicted by a special CBI court in a DA case. In the previous assembly elections of 2019 Bandhu Tirkey had won from Mandar on JVM-P ticket by defeating Dev Kumar Dhan of the BJP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.