Jharkhand Assembly pays tributes to former President Bharat Ratna late Pranab Mukherjee

Ranchi: On the inaugural day of the Monsoon Session of Jharkhand Assembly rich tributes were paid to former President Bharat Ratna late Pranab Mukherjee.

Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Ravindranath Mahto led the house in paying their tributes to not only the late President but also to the numerous politicians, artists, authors, social workers and common people who passed away between the conduct of two sessions.

The Speaker said that with the demise of late President Pranab Mukherjee on August 31 an era came to an end in Indian Politics. He said that it would not b wrong to describe Pranab Babu as one of the architects of Modern India. The contributions made by him as a finance minister, defence minister and external affairs minister and that as the first citizen of the country can never be forgotten.

“Due to his contributions, he is often described as the best Prime Minister that nation never had,” the speaker said adding that Pranab Mukherjee was first elected into the Rajya Sabha in the year 1969 and in political circles he was considered as ‘Ajatshatru’ who also acted as a bridge between different political ideologies and thoughts. An irreparable loss has been caused to the nation with his demise, Mahto said.

Tributes were also paid to former Union Minister Raghuvans Prasad Singh, Bermo MLA of Congress party Rajendra Singh, Congress MP Basant Kumar, Madhya Pradesh Governor Lalji Tandon, Rajya Sabha MP Amar Singh, Rajya Sabha MP and former Union Minister Beni Prasad Verma, former Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Ajit Jogi and social activist Swami Agnivesh.

Among those who were also remembered by the house included Sant Keshavanand Bharti, Poet Rahat Indori, Bollywood actors Rishi Kapoor and Irfan Khan, painter Satish Gujral. The martyrs of Galwan valley and the people who have lost their life due to Coronavirus.

Those who offered their tributes included Chief Minister Hemant Soren, cabinet ministers Aalamgir Aalam, Satyanand Bhokta, AJSU MLA Sudesh Mahto, Independent MLA Saryu Rai etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.