Dumri bypoll: 63.75 percent voting took place, enthusiasm was visible among voters

 Dumri: Around 63.70 per cent voting was witnessed in the Dumri bypoll on Tuesday, said an election commission official.

Voting started in Dumri byelection at 7 am and ended at 5 pm. There was enthusiasm among the voters since morning but as the election voting figures came out, it became clear that the voting percentage was not as per the expectations.

Late Jagarnath Mahato’s wife is contesting on this seat on JMM ticket. Five candidates including AJSU’s Yashoda Devi are in the fray. Jagarnath Mahato has dominated this assembly seat for almost two decades. In the 2019 elections, BJP’s Pradeep Sahu got 36,013 votes. If Pradeep Sahu’s vote is added to Yashoda Devi’s vote, then this figure becomes 72,853 while late Jagarnath Mahto got 71128 votes.

Queues of voters started appearing outside the polling stations since morning. Even in Naxal affected areas, enthusiasm was visible among the people regarding the elections. Enthusiasm is visible among the maximum number of women in booth numbers 10, 11, 12 and 13 of the upgraded middle school in Naxal-affected Nagabad. Polling started on time in all the polling stations.

In four polling stations, EVMs were replaced due to technical glitches before the mock poll. JMM candidate Baby Devi voted from booth number 347. She cast the first vote from this booth. After leaving the house, she directly reached the temple, after which she reached the polling station. After voting, she appealed that people should vote early in the morning. Enthusiasm is visible among the people for voting at various polling stations for the Dumri assembly byelection 2023.

There is a lot of enthusiasm among women voters also. Voting will take place today while counting of votes will take place on September 8. The entire election process will be completed by September 10. The district administration had deployed adequate number of security forces to conduct the elections in a peaceful atmosphere. -Central Armed Police Force -Eco Company of Jharkhand Arms Police -Home Guard -District Arms Police Force -Jharkhand Jaguar Force. 

There are 2,98,629 voters in Dumri Assembly. The number of male voters is 1,54,452 out of 2,98,629 voters. While the number of women voters is 1,44,174. Dumri assembly constituency is divided into three blocks of two districts. Dumri block of Giridih and nine panchayats of Nawadih block and Chandrapura block of Bokaro district are included. 

Since 1977, only people from outside the Kurmi caste and Dumri block have been becoming MLAs in this assembly. Before 1977, this assembly included Dumri and Pirtand blocks. Many times the people of this block represented the assembly. In the delimitation done before 1977, nine panchayats of Nawadih and Chandrapura were added to Dumri.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.