State government recommends 5 names to UPSC for appointment as permanent DGP

Ranchi: The state would soon set a full time DGP as the government has recommended names of 5 senior IPS officers for consideration to the UPSC.

Apart from interim DGP MV Rao, names of KN Choubey, SN Prashan, Neeraj Sinha and Ajay Kumar Singh. Before appointment of MV Rao as interim DGP KN Choubey was the DGP of Jharkhand.

Currently Mr Choubey is looking after police modernisation in Jharkhand. SN Pradhan is on central deputation and is currently serving as DG NDRF. Ajay Kumar Singh is ADG Wireless and Niraj Sinha is DG ACB.

For appointment on the post of DGP the government sends 5 names to UPSC out of which UPSC names 3 names out of which the DGP is appointed.

Recently a petition has been filed in the Supreme Court against the appointment of MV Rao over the post of the DGP. The petitioner has said that the present Jharkhand government has violated the directions of the Supreme Court in matters related to fix tenure of the DGPs and their seniority.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.