Ramgarh’s Congress MLA Mamta Devi awarded five years of punishment in Gola firing case, to lose membership of house

Hazaribagh: Congress party’s Ramgarh MLA Mamta Devi has been awarded five years of imprisonment by a local Court in connection with the Gola Firing Incident following which she is all set to lose her membership of the Jharkhand Assembly.

The Court of special judge of MP-MLA Court Kumar Pawan awarded the punishment to the MLA and the other 12 accused in the case. She has been awarded imprisonment of five years and the Court has also imposed a fine of Rs 20,000 under different sections of the IPC. Failing to pay the fine she will have to undergo further imprisonment of six more months. 

She was convicted by the court in the case on December 8. In the year 2016, there was a shooting in Ramgarh’s Gola in which case number 79/2016 was registered in Ramgarh PS regarding this. The case regarding this matter is going on in Hazaribagh since the year 2021. There were a total of 45 testimonies in this case. 

At that time in Hazaribagh, the then BDO’s informant Advocate, Atmaram Chaudhary informed that the case was going on under sections 147, 148, 149, 307, 332, 326, 333. On August 20, 2016 about 200 villagers under the banner of Nagrik Chetna Manch led by Mamta Devi were sitting on a dharna in front of the Inland Power company in Gola police station area of Ramgarh. 

During this the villagers became furious. Vandalism was started and government vehicles were damaged. There was a fierce clash between the police and the villagers. Police had to fire in self-defense. Four people died and about three dozen people were also injured in this incident.

The CO, BDO and SHO and other jawans posted as magistrates in security were also injured. Four separate FIRs were lodged in the Rajrappa and Gola police station incidents regarding the firing incident. These include case number 65/2016 in Gola police station, Rajrappa police station case number 81/2016 and Gola police station case number 79/2016.

Apart from Mamta Devi, those who have been awarded punishment in the case included Rajeev Jaiswal Kunwar Mahto Dildar Ansari Jageshwar Mahto Yadu Mahto Manoj Pujhar Kauleshwar Mahto Lal Bahadur Mahto Basudeo Mahto Adil Inami Abhishek Kumar Soni and Subhash Mahto.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.