Election Commission completes its preparations, counting of votes will take place at 14 centres – CEO K Ravi Kumar

Ranchi: Chief Electoral Officer K Ravi Kumar has said that counting of votes for 14 parliamentary constituencies of Jharkhand will be done at 14 centres.

All preparations for counting of votes have been completed.  Counting of votes will start at 8 am on Tuesday.

Postal ballots will be counted first. After that the EVM votes will be counted.

He said that under the rules of the Election Commission of India, no communication device of any kind will be allowed inside the counting centre.

If the agents who went inside the counting centre leave the campus of the counting centre even once, they will not be able to go inside again.

He said that the weather forecast states that the mercury is likely to be around 44 degrees in Palamu and Chatra during the counting of votes.

There is a forecast of rain in Kolhan in the afternoon.

He was addressing the media at Nirvachan Sadan, Dhruva on Monday.

He said that maximum counting of votes will take place in Chatra and Koderma in 27 rounds.

Counting of votes will take place in at least 16 rounds in Khunti.

Similarly, counting of votes will take place in 26 rounds in Godda, 25 in Hazaribagh and Dhanbad, 24 in Dumka and Singhbhum, and 23 in Rajmahal, 22 in Palamu, 21 in Jamshedpur, 20 in Ranchi and Lohardaga and 19 in Giridih. 

465 tables have been made for counting postal ballots.

Whereas EVM votes will be counted on 1429 tables.

He said that the counting of votes for Gandey Assembly by-election will be done in 24 rounds.

He said that since the implementation of the Model Code of Conduct, a total of illegal materials and cash worth Rs 139 crore, 3 lakh, Rs 9,542 have been seized in Jharkhand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.