BJP appoints Shivraj Chauhan as Jharkhand poll in charge

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced election in-charges and co-in-charges for the upcoming assembly elections in Maharashtra, Haryana, Jharkhand and Jammu and Kashmir.

According to a release issued by the party, Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav has been appointed as the election in-charge for Maharashtra, Dharmendra Pradhan for Haryana, Shivraj Singh Chauhan for Jharkhand and G Kishan Reddy for Jammu and Kashmir.

Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnav has been appointed co-in-charge of Maharashtra, Biplab Kumar Dev is co-in-charge for Haryana and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sharma will be the co-in-charge for Jharkhand. No one has been appointed as co-in-charge in Jammu and Kashmir.

Assembly elections are to be held in all these states within a year. The election dates have not yet been announced by the Election Commission.

In Maharashtra, there is a BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government. Meanwhile, BJP independently governs in Haryana. In Jharkhand, there is a coalition government formed by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Congress, both components of the opposition alliance ‘Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance’ (INDIA).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.