Madhupur bypolls: Six candidates in race as process of withdrawal ends

Deoghar: Six candidates are now left in the race for the bypolls on Madhupur seat of Jharkhand Assembly as the process of withdrawal of candidature came to an end on Saturday.

The voting on Madhupur seat will be held on April 17. Among the six candidates while four are independents the main battle will be between cabinet minister Hafizul Hasan of the JMM and Ganga Narayan Singh of the BJP.

A total of 8 candidates had filed their nominations for the bypolls. During scrutiny a nomination got rejected while an Independent withdrew his candidature after which 6 candidates were left in the race.

On Saturday itself all the candidates have been alloted the symbols.

In the Assembly Elections of 2019 Haji Hussain Ansari of JMM had won from the seat and was included in the Hemant Soren cabinet as minorities welfare minister. He died on October 3, 2020 in Ranchi battling health related ailments.

Over the past two decades Madhupur has witnessed direct contest between the JMM and the BJP. This time BJP did not field Raj Paliwar who was at the second position in the previous elections but has roped in Ganga Narayan Singh to contest the polls who in 2019 was at the third position.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.