100 per cent Polling for President’s Poll in Jharkhand

Ranchi, Jul 17: In Jharkhand polling came to an end at 5pm for the post of President of India.
Amid elaborate security arrangements at the Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha the polling concluded peacefully here.
Chief Minister Raghubar Das, Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Dinesh Oraon were among the 81 MLAs who cast their votes during the polls. The total number of elected representatives in the Jharkhand Assembly is 81.
Polling agent of the NDA for the President’s Polls and State’s Urban Development Minister C P Singh said that after the election process came to an end at 1700hrs the ballot box has been sealed which would be taken by the officials to New Delhi. The battle is between NDA’s Ramnath Govind and UPA’s Meira Kumar.
After casting his vote Mr Das tweeted that he was fully confident of Mr Ramnath Kovind’s victory in the polls. During the polls jailed MLAs including BJP’s Sanjeev Singh, Pradeep Yadav of the JVM(P), Nirmala Devi of the Congress and Enos Ekka of Jharkhand Party also cast their votes.
However before casting their votes they are asked to submit their court order copy after which they were allowed to vote. The officials of the election commission gave a special pen to the MLAs to cast their votes who were only allowed entry inside the booths after showing their identity cards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.